Winner > Best Experimental Film
The story is told by Saint-Thomas d’Aquin to a 7-year-old girl, a symbol of hope and innocence.
Saint-Thomas d’Aquin (1224-1274) in the Summa Theologica transposes the deadly sins by identifying seven of them, which he calls “vices”: pride, laziness, gluttony, lust, avarice, envy, and anger.
Composed of 7 short films, the film takes place in different places and times, mixing several cinematographic aesthetics such as surrealism, the underground, the new wave, neorealism, or the films noir of the 1930s.
The Seven Vices highlights the decay of human behavior and the resulting reality: That of the destruction of the earth and its living beings, thus revealing the self-destructive nature of man.
The film pays homage both to classical writers such as Borges, Cortázar, Hemingway, Tolstoy, Rimbaud, and Kafka, as well as to great directors such as Charles Chaplin, Cronenberg, Tarkovsky, Kubrick, Greenaway, Godard, Chris Marker, and Dziga Vertov. In addition, the characters are imbued
atmospheres as original as they are eclectic, each part of the film evoking a powerful artistic universe: by Warhol, Basquiat, Pollock, and Bosch.
Director > Gabriel Otero
Writer > Gabriel Otero
Producer > Rattlesnake Productions – Gabriel Otero, Filipe Dos Santos
Key Cast
Arielle Dombasle
Nicolas Ker
Chihiro Niuya
Jimena Buttigliengo
Mary dre Motema
Chloé Rigal
Patricia Kan
Marioara Cheptene
Steeve Gaudet
Emilie Lang
Pierre Cheremetieff
Tomoko Furukawa
Takako Ogasawara
Stephanie Lambert
David Fuchs
Keyline ​

Director Biography
Gabriel Otero
Born May 25, 1969 in Bahia Blanca, Argentina.
Multimedia director, EPCTV (Cine & TV University), Rosario, Argentina. In 2003 he launched in Argentina with Rattlesnake Multimedia Design Productora Independiente, the country’s first international digital art festival Rosario Arte Digital Muestra 0, which takes place at CEC – Centro de Expresiones Contemporaneous. (Orlan guest of honor, 600 international artists).
Saxophonist, Gabriel Otero created at the age of 24, the experimental music trio Estado Filarmonico, with Adrian Maglia,piano, and Juan Martin Medrano, guitar (album Alea Jacta Est, 1995).